Prof Liz Johnson | Senior Deputy Vice Chancellor of Academic
Deakin University

Prof Liz Johnson, Senior Deputy Vice Chancellor of Academic, Deakin University

Alfred Deakin Professor Liz Johnson leads Deakin's ambitious Education and Employability strategy, including the drive to premium digital learning and outstanding student experience. Professor Johnson’s portfolio includes Indigenous Strategy, Academic Governance and Standards, Graduate Employment, Faculty Services, Student Services, the Deakin Library, Deakin Learning Futures, the Dean of Students, and the Centre for Research in Assessment and Digital Learning (CRADLE). 

As Deputy Vice-Chancellor Education from 2019-2021, Professor Johnson steered teaching and learning at Deakin through the disruption of the COVID pandemic, building from extensive projects on Deakin’s online learning environment, teaching innovation and course development and staff capability for learning and teaching. During this period, she sponsored re-imagining and restructure of Deakin’s professional services for students and Faculties, substantive renewal of teaching and learning design and an institution-wide transformation to online assessment.

Professor Johnson has led whole-of-institution curriculum reform projects at Deakin University as Pro-Vice-Chancellor Teaching and Learning (2014-2018) and previously at La Trobe University. She has led nationally funded projects, including Successful WIL in Science, on work-integrated learning in science faculties, funded by the Office of the Chief Scientist of Australia and the Department of Education and Training. She was awarded an OLT National Teaching Fellowship in 2012 and worked with the Australian Council of Deans of Science to establish the ACDS Teaching and Learning Centre and as its inaugural Director.

Professor Johnson trained as a plant biochemist and taught university biochemistry for over 30 years. She In 2006 she was awarded citations for outstanding contributions to teaching and learning from La Trobe University and from the Carrick Institute. In recognition of her ongoing contributions to biochemistry education, in 2007 she received the prestigious Invitrogen Education award from the Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB), and the 2007 Vice-Chancellor’s award for teaching from La Trobe University. She now researches and publishes in areas associated with curriculum renewal, work-integrated learning and digital credentialing.

In 2022, Deakin University conferred on Professor Johnson the title of Alfred Deakin Professor, the highest honour the University can bestow on a member of the academic staff, recognising their outstanding and sustained contribution to furthering Deakin’s aims. 


Day 2 @ 09:30

Equity in participation, access and opportunity

last published: 21/Apr/24 11:05 GMT

back to speakers