Annet Steenbergen | Co-Founder, Aruba Happy Flow
Government of Aruba

Annet Steenbergen, Co-Founder, Aruba Happy Flow, Government of Aruba

Annet Steenbergen is co-founder/initiator of the Aruba Happy Flow project for the Government of Aruba. The Happy Flow project was the first single token initiative that created a seamless flow of passenger facilitation from curb to gate through the reuse of biometrics and advanced cooperation through datasharing between the public and the private sector in the travel eco system. Currently, the Aruba Happy Flow project is developing a second phase of innovations, with one of the aims to connect off-airport stakeholders like a hotel and a car rental to the seamless and contactless travel experience. The use of digital identity, digital health credentials and privacy and security by design will be a central part to this second phase.
In 2016, Annet took on the chair of IATA's Facilitation Working Group (FWG) and is a member of IATA's OneID Advisory Board. Since 2017 IATA started the One ID task force, residing under the FWG she actively participates in several working groups on creating standards and best practices to prepare the aviation industry for cross-border seamless and contactless travel.
In 2020 Annet was a awarded the Women in Biometrics Award.
Besides her work for the Government of Aruba she is a consultant on seamless and contactless passenger facilitation with a strong focus on digital identity in the travel eco system, stakeholder identity management cooperation, data sharing solutions and data privacy/GDPR.
Annet has 25 years international experience working in the field of border management (Dutch Immigration and Naturalization Service) and public private cooperation at airports to counter illegal immigration and human trafficking. She has, besides Aruba,  previously worked in i.e. the Netherlands, Suriname and South Africa.
Furthermore she also enjoyes public speaking engagements, writing articles and thought leadership on the topic of contactless travel.

back to speakers




Janine Bill


Fiona Watson


Onika Akhtar

Sign Up for Event Updates