Colombo Plan Staff College

Association Partner

The Colombo Plan Staff College for Technician Education (CPSC) is a unique inter-governmental organization and an autonomous specialized agency of the Colombo Plan. It was established on December 5, 1973 in Wellington, New Zealand to assist the member countries of the Colombo Plan in developing and enhancing their technician education systems. It became operational in 1974 with the Republic of Singapore serving as the first host government. In January 1987, CPSC moved to Manila, Philippines upon the invitation of the Philippine Government.

CPSC mandate is to improve the quality of technical education and training in the Colombo Plan region by meeting the needs for technician education of teacher educators, trainers and senior staff, who can play a more active part in in-service training, staff development, research and publications.

CPSC also provides institutional accreditation for the TVET sector through its implementing agency for accreditation, the Asia Pacific Accreditation and Certification Commission (APACC). Through its stance and belief in the use of accreditation as an effective mechanism for quality improvement in TVET, APACC has conducted evaluations of numerous institutions across the region. These TVET institutions have shown improvement along APACC’s major criteria and this affirms the positive impact of accreditation for quality improvement in TVET institutions’ services.

Headed by its Director General Prof. G.L.D. Wickramasinghe, CPSC currently has 16 active member countries; Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Fiji, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, and Thailand.


Get involved


For sponsorship opportunities


For speaking opportunities


Countdown to the event with





Join our EDUtech community and access our exciting library of free-to-watch edtech videos.