A prime goal for stakeholders in the electricity supply, ICT and related industries in Africa is to cooperate in the effective application of common standards to build the infrastructure needed to develop Africa. AFSEC was established for that purpose in February 2008 resulting from a decision of the African Ministers of Energy. 

The statutory members of AFSEC are National Electrotechnical Committees, one from each African country, representing the electrotechnical industry in that country.  Active participation of all such stakeholders in these national committees will be key to the success of AFSEC. Other stakeholder organisations may be affiliate members of AFSEC.